Wedding Planning

I am currently engaged to what I guess you could call my college sweetheart. Everyone talks about how unbelievably young we are and silly it may all be but we tend not to care. I think we both have a pretty good outlook on our prospective marriage. We encourage each other to grow as much as possible. We have completely separate goals like my goal of being a very fashionable, talented, Oscar winning actress and him excelling in his company. Then we have goals together like someday opening up our our design house, starting a label together, having children (in like 13 years), buying a house and completely gutting it, actually getting into doing yoga every morning.  I think we’ve realized that the only real way to stay together is to let each other be apart so we can grow both independently and together.

At this point we’ve realized all the ways to piss each other off, like when there are dishes left in the sink, or the dog hasn’t been taken out and one of us is running late and left to do it. Money stresses us out and we have to constantly remind ourselves that money comes and goes but at the end of the day we’re not going to let it take over us. Plus some of our best days require tea in bed with black and white movies and no money spent at all.

Now, we get into wedding planning. I’m bitter about it. It’s hard. It all feels so silly. Am I going to spend that much for no real reason? Am I going to spend that much money on a dress I’ll where once or have migraines over whether or not my mom is going to insist of wearing the tightest dress with the most amount of cleavage? Frankly, I don’t want to. I think weddings need to go back to being about the union of two people and then a celebration. It’s formed into an industry that actually takes away the intimacy of two people are doing one of the most sacred things. This are my thoughts for today. This is my stress and my worries.

Leave a Reply

