Chiara & Polka Dots & Yummy Food

Let’s start this post with the yummy food. Joan’s on 3rd is one of the most popular places to eat in LA. Will & I ate there regularly while we were living in Santa Monica for our trip. You can have everything you want and the lattes are the bomb. Here is a little afternoon treat we had to go.

IMG_1548

Flourless Chocolate Cake

Now moving on, I was shooting my Look of the Day in Los Feliz since we in the neighborhood visiting a cousin. I went for a sort of All American modern 50’s look. I love the way the polka dots pop against the chambray shirt. It was extremely comfortable and easy to put together. I’m loving the wine colored lips for fall.

IMG_1487

IMG_1473 copy

IMG_1489

Shoes: Dolce Vita Dress: H&M Bag: Chanel Lip Color: NARS

So we are shooting my look and we hear people speaking Italian. We keep walking to find another location and I see a man with a camera, Gregory & a tall blonde, Chiara who is also shooting her look of the day. So, of course, I say “I’m sorry to interrupt but I’m a reader. I’ve met you at fashion week a few times but it’s nice to see you again.” She shakes my hand and seems really excited to meet me. She starts making jokes about how people must think she’s some crazy girl in a gown running around on a street and how she always wonders what people must think. Of course, I’m thinking, they are thinking “OH SHIT, THERE’S THE BLONDE SALAD” but instead just say they probably think you’re going to a fancy prom. I tell her that I am also a blogger and her blog has inspired me. Then we start talking shop.

She tells me about how she gets sent a lot of looks and like that day, for example, she needs to shoot this gown because it was sent to her but she has no where to wear it to. She won’t lie and say she had an event but of course to the readers it probably seems that way. She said that each designer has an idea in their head on how they want the look to be shot so she has to live up to that even if it means changing outfits 5 times in a day. They want to know if she’ll be traveling soon because maybe they prefer to see their dress on the streets of NYC, LA, or back in her home of Milan. She seems as if it is tiring but she is very “business first”. This is something I respect.

I tell her I have a mutual friend with Shea Marie from Peace, Love, Shea and how she apparently will be like “Hold on, I need to make sure this jacket is on in this shot”, even when just out with friends. Chiara responds with some kind of sentiment like “the designer wants what the designer wants”. It is a real business. Anyone who thinks blogging is just “Oh, look how pretty I look today” is wrong. There is a business and a lot of people to answer to behind the scenes of each beautiful photograph. Don’t let this deceive you into thinking that the bloggers are powerless. THEY HAVE CREATIVE CONTROL but they are expected to hold up their side of the bargain. Now, if writing posts, making sure I’m photographed in my free clothes, and that they are posted a certain way at a certain time is all I have to do THEN SIGN ME UP. But it isn’t that easy. It’s writing, it’s photography, it’s styling, it’s modeling, it’s being a creative director, it’s being a PR person, it’s being a social media master, as well as a public figure.

Furthermore, women like Chiara Ferragni and Leandra Medine have had the foresight to seize their media platforms by building a business around it. They both have teams who help them manage everything from their Instagrams to their ad revenue. These woman know that this may not last forever but it is enough to start to build an empire. Leandra has done it with her book, jewelry line, and design collabs. In fact, both women have a capsule collection with Superga. Chiara has done it with her design collabs and her shoe line Chiara Ferragni shoes.

She told me Chiara Ferragni shoes are now branching out to the good ole US of A so hopefully cute lipstick and lip smoking flats will arrive at our American doorsteps in no time. I told her that we also REALLY NEED her Superga line to come out here as I’m dying for the camo pair. We chit chatted and for the first time out of all the times I had run into her she seemed relaxed. We both had to run off and she told me to email her so we can stay in touch. We snapped a few pictures before I left, she gave me a hug, and thanked me for reading. I did email her a few days later only to run into her again while I was boarding for my flight to NYC. We introduced each other to our significant others but after my 2 hour airport nap I could barely board the plan, let alone make conversation.

IMG_1497

Tall next to Tiny.

I hope this post doesn’t just glamorize blogging and the big name bloggers. I hope it enlightens you on how the business works as well as showing you examples of women who can become successful and make a business from their minds as well as the passion in their heart. I also hope we start to ask ourselves, “What should we expect from our bloggers?” One line of text and pretty pictures or a thought out post with real information (why an outfit works, what’s happening in fashion, why they chose a look) along with beautiful photos?

Leave me your thoughts & comments.

Leave a Reply

