Tea Talks: Health and Wellness Tips

20131210-213128.jpg

Today I want to share some of my health and wellness tips with all of you! I’ll break it down with a bunch of different categories to make it an easy read. I’m just getting back to fitness (starting about a month ago) after a knee injure that kept me from working out for about 6 months.

Fitness: I really need exercises that connect my brain and body as well as needing a real physical exertion. I hold a lot of stress and anxiety in my body so physically pushing myself helps me “sweat it all out” in a way. I like to start morning with stretches to wake my body up. I do a 10-15 minute yoga circuit which includes a lot of the basic positions like downward dog, warrior, and the appropriately names sun salutations.
Then for my real workout: I’ve recently started boxing which I fine super therapeutic and cardio burning. I hate running so skipping rope process when training in boxing is a great way to burn calories. I also mix in some dancing as well. I really like to switch things up so I do Ballet Beautiful and Tracey Anderson method. About 3 days a week I do High Intensity Interval training where I piece together all of the moves for those workouts into one and add basic moves like squats, lunges, and push ups. I do 50 secs work, 10 secs off for about 20-30 minutes. It’s very intense but wonderful for your body and metabolism.

Hair: I take Biotin to help maintain great and healthy hair. I only wash my hair about one a week because I have an extremely dry scalp. I am always coloring and putting heat on my hair so on day a week, I take a hair vacation where I put coconut oil in my hair and let it sit in for half the day. I alway use serums and Moroccan oil to keep it healthy, shiny, and moisturized. Scalp massages are a part of my everyday life especially now that I am about to grow out my fringe. Just gently massage your scalp to stimulate the nerve endings. Nothing too rough! Other than that, regular dusting trims to keep the ends healthy.

Skin: I use coconut oil on everything. I even use it as a shaving cream. It’s great because my skin is nice and moisturized after a hot shower when I use it. I drink a lot of green tea, coconut water, and good old H2O. Hydrated skin is healthy skin. I also drink thing crazy and no very tasty juice called Noni Juice (somethingI learned from Miranda Kerr). While it there no scientific proof, I have seen amazing changes in my skin since I started drinking it. I even put it on my face like I would a toner. I exfoliate with Turbinado sugar, lemon juice, & coconut oil every few days depending on how my skin feels. When I have any redness or break outs coming on, I do a face mask with honey, nutmeg, and cinnamon. My number one rule: never sleep with your make-up on .

Nutrition: I’m allergic to gluten and don’t eat meat, simply because it grosses me out. I am sensitive to dairy so I really watch my intake. I love fresh green juices but only do cold-press organic. I try to have one once a day when I can afford to. I always start my day with hot water and lemon. I make a protein shake during some point of my day with wheat grass, goji berries, coconut water, chia seeds, and almond butter. I eat a ton of avocado, quinoa, salmon, egg whites, and kale. I try to live on a rule of just having little indulgences. So I’ll have nibbles of dark chocolate for a sweet and usually midday so I can burn it off. For a heavier sweet like a cookie or piece of cake (g free of course) I try to keep it to just once a week but of course, I don’t always end up successful.

Emotionally: I try to mediate everyday. Just try to relax and let myself release some stress. I remind myself everyday to be grateful so I take time to let people know I’m grateful for them or just appreciate what I have. Sometimes it’s just little things that I’m grateful for and sometimes it’s basic things like having a roof over my head. Not everyone does. I’m spiritual so I pray. I try to be gentle with myself and always, always be super positive even if it’s forced. Never be judgmental. Just enjoy every minute of your life.

Xoxo.

3 thoughts on “Tea Talks: Health and Wellness Tips

  1. I agree. Nutrition is incredibly important. I usually have a protein shake before or after (sometimes both) my work outs. It helps me with my work out, and leaves me feeling regenerated. The meditation I’ve found benefits from. But I have a hard time keeping my scheduled meditations consistent. Great blog!

  2. This was a great post – thanks for all of your tips! In terms of hair, is there anything you do so that it doesn’t appear or feel greasy? I used to go every 2-3 days without washing my hair, but ever since I moved to NYC, I think the water has affected the greasiness level of my hair. I’d like to get back to not washing it as much because I think it’s been damaging my hair, and I, too, also have a fairly dry scalp. Also, I used to take Biotin but stopped a while ago. Any tips? 🙂

    • Hi Jenny! So my easy solution is, of course, dry shampoo. It helps with the fight against greasiness but it doesn’t necessarily solve it. But there are wonderful ones out now for not very much money. My other suggestion is explore some of the research that’s been done lately on alkaline water. There is a lot about how the pH balance can really mess with your hair and scalp. I’d go to Whole Foods and buy a few jugs and start to wash your hair with that for like 2 or 3 weeks. See if it helps. If it does, there are a lot of shower heads with alkalizing water filters that you can buy now. Let me know what happens!

Leave a Reply

